Quick contact: office@katowice2020.eu 

Katowice - Host City

Ministry of Sport of the Republic of Poland

Silesian Chess Federation

ecu logo 4

fide logo

Previous Next

Spectacular play-off stage!

The play-off stage between 16 qualifiers occurred to be spectacular at the European Online Blitz Chess Championship. Four game matches with the rate of play 3’+2” followed by an Armageddon (5’vs 4’without an increment) determined the semi-finalists of the European Online Blitz Chess Championship. The play-off started at 8pm CET.
The order of the players in the play-off and the pairing for the first round was determined by the final standing of the Qualification stage. Meier Georg (GER) managed to qualify for the next stage after a very tense Armageddon game against Wojtaszek Radoslaw (POL). Shirov Alexei (ESP) eliminated Demidov Mihkail (RUS) and Pantsulaia Levan (GEO) won against Yilmaz Mustafa (TUR) with 3:2. In the Armenian derby between Petrosyan Manuel and Hovhannisyan Robert, Petrosyan managed to promote to the next stage after an Armageddon game (3:2).
Indjic Aleksandar (SRB) secured his place at the Quarterfinals before round 4, after winning 3 games in a row against the only IM at this stage - Ozen Deniz (TUR). Bluebaum Matthias (GER) won a mini-match against Onischuk Vladimir (UKR) with 2 points advantage. Navara David (CZE), who is also a member of the Wasko HETMAN GKS Katowice, took the lead against Safarli Eltaj (AZB) with 2 points advantage, while Jones Gawain (ENG) secured his qualification by eliminating Deac Bogdan Daniel (ROU).
In the Quarterfinals, Navara David, Jones Gawain, Shirov Alexei and Bluebaum Matthias celebrated victory against their mini-matches Pantsulaia Levan, Petrosyan Manuel, Meier Georg and Indjic Aleksandar respectively.
In the TOP4 Play-off, which will take place tomorrow (20th Dec) at 8pm CET, we will see battles between 2660+ players.
The spectators can follow the games live with English commentary provided by WGM Keti Tsatsalashvili, GM Marcin Tazbir and WFM Maria Leks and Polish commentary provided by Infoszach. Tomorrow the new European Online Blitz Champion will be determined.
Semifinal - Navara vs Jones
Semifinal - Shirov vs Bluebaum
Photo © Michał Walusza

Official logo

European Blitz Online Chess Championship

Contact information

UL. 1 MAJA 24, 40-287 KATOWICE


European Online Blitz Chess Championship 2020. All Rights Reserved | Created and implemented by Michał Grabowski